Books I have reviewed

(Team Golden Oldies Book 1) Amazon UK, Amazon US, Amazon Australia. April 29th 2015


An enchanting story with a strong underlying message of care and compassion.

The book is essentially a series of colour slides beautifully packaged together to form this appealing book for 3-5 year olds.
The first picture of Winnie - the dog - immediately captures your heart with his pleading eyes. It touched my heart and I am not normally a dog lover.

The story tells how Winnie was hurt and his 'Mum' ordered a wagon so that he could still go out on adventures and spread love and happiness everywhere. The photos show Winnie enjoying all sorts of adventures in life, giving comfort, and spreading happiness. The underlying message of giving 'senior' dogs a home and place in life comes across beautifully.

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.comhttp://www.amazon.com/Rosalie-Marsh/e/B004AQM4X6/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0  




I received this book for review and am happy to respond.
Although this excellent guide is aimed initially at those in the financial planning sector, it is in fact a useful tool for anyone starting up or currently running a business. The fundamentals are the same and can be adapted to suit the situation.
The author speaks with authority from experience. Importantly, he speaks from the heart and is not afraid to relate his own experiences - adverse or otherwise. The first-hand account covers a wide range of issues and topics for consideration. These must be incorporated into a business plan. The chapters cover important aspects for consideration of administration, recruitment, outsourcing, the delicate subject of ‘how much to charge’, networking, communication and technology, to name but a few.
The book also covers various legal aspects that are important.
I would like to have been able to reach the chosen chapter when I clicked on the link in the Table of Contents instead of being taken to the front of the book. I found this frustrating.
However, that aside, all in all it is a worthy addition to the bookshelf - virtual or otherwise - of anyone wishing to succeed and move with the times in best business practices.

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com



I was asked by the author to review this charming children's book.
A charming and enchanting story which will rouse the curiosity of any child. As well as being an absorbing story in itself as the child excitedly sees new creatures before coming upon the Iguana, the story lends itself to other areas of exploration. There are opportunities to build in more discovery activities about Mexico, activities about the Iguana itself, and more.
The illustrations which accompany this well-written story are fresh and bright. The colourful drawings are simple and to the point. You just have to turn the page as Joey seeks to find where his new discovery sleeps.
I am though a little confused as to why there are two different book jackets. The illustration inside the book is, I feel more appealing than the one used as the cover. Overall though, a wonderful addition to any child’s library.

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________

A comprehensive and wide-ranging book. February 24th 2015

Review for The Ultimate Guide to Consulting in the Networked Age: A step-by-step guide to starting your own consulting practice. Amazon UK, Amazon US, Goodreads

The world is changing and we have to change with it otherwise we are going backwards. 'The Ultimate Guide to Consulting in the Networked Age' leads the reader through important areas of setting up a consulting business leaving no stone unturned. Putting on another 'hat', the reader is then taken through the strategies and disciplines of sales and marketing. 


The book encompasses many of the skills that can take years to learn and hone. It also provides a refresher for other skills. It is written in such a way that it can be read at whatever place the reader is at in the business venture, while serving as a reference to be looked at time and again.
It has a place on the desk (or reading device) of anyone who is seeking to strike out on their own and be successful.

This area in itself is no easy task which requires the consultant to view things from another angle, come out from behind the business persona, and be pro-active with the tools at hand through the Internet for making contacts and selling the business/product. Contributions from leading business, marketing, and sales experts enhance and add credibility to the book.

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________

Another valuable tool for the marketing tool boxAugust 4, 2014 Amazon.com

The Self Publishers Guide to Book Marketing (2nd Edition): Step By Step Guide For Fiction and Non-Fiction Authors (Kindle Edition) Jamie Cawley.

I was asked by Jamie to review this book and received a free copy. After reading, I am happy to offer my thoughts.

Jamie has been very brave in attempting to pull together various aspects of essential marketing tools. I disagree that it is only for self-publishers or even only for new self-publishers. You don't know what you don't know until someone tells you and we can always learn something new. Authors who are fortunate enough to have a traditional publishing agreement will still be expected to plunge into the marketing world to some extent and would benefit from reading this even though much of the content would be handled for them.

Initially, I downloaded this onto my Net book where various formatting issues came to light, which I found confusing. When I clicked on the first links, I was taken to the middle of the book, which I did not realise at first. Page numbers were another which distracted me and appeared mixed in with the TOC. Page numbers are not relevant in an eBook, which has to flow (Kindle & ePub). I have subsequently read this on my desktop in both .mobi and pdf. via Kindle App. The pdf actually gave a better reading experience and it was quite acceptable to have page numbers as the pages are fixed in a PDF.

For the Kindle, I agree with another reviewer that this book could perhaps benefit from a complete re-formatting and updating, especially as Amazon's Kindle submission guidelines (covers) have changed over the last year or so. These formatting issues as they don't detract from the excellent content; they do though spoil the reading experience.

Much effort has gone to make each section/ chapter live with a simple click. However, I could not go back to the contents from within the book as there is no reverse link back.

A TOC at the front of the eBook - which is generated on conversion - appears to be at the back in the .mobi sand the first few lines take you to the middle of the book. Others take you to the front cover.

In the pdf file which Jamie also sent to me, there is no NCX file showing on the side of the screen. This is usually generated on conversion to PDF by using the bookmark function (Adobe Acrobat) and by use of the Style Menu (Word) when writing the document.

The book content however, covers many aspects of marketing which it takes some time and lots of research to master. Let us not forget that we are speaking to mainly new authors here who most likely will not have previous experience of marketing. Even seasoned authors can learn - I know that I have picked up one or two points, which I hadn't thought about before even though my experience is quite extensive.

I found one chapter quite technical and I certainly, even with my expertise, would find some of the topics hard to follow. There are many people who are still not advanced IT users. We sometimes forget that in the midst of our own expertise.

However, the basics are there and these can always be adapted to suit one's own preference and resource availability. I have also found some new resources, which I will pursue. Thank you for that Jamie.

A valuable and worthy resource to have to hand. It is one which you will re-visit time and again. The four stars are due to the formatting issues which detract from the reading experience and the excellence overall of the book.

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________

Scratching the surface and finding a goldmine!, June 8, 2012

This review is from: Amazon Categories Create Best Sellers: But That's Not All They Do (Kindle Edition) Aggie Villanueva.

In Amazon Categories Create Best Sellers: But That's Not All They Do the author has scratched the surface of the power of Amazon and unleashed a powerful tool which we can all take advantage of - and all for free! On publishing my first book and reading all I could about various marketing tools, I quickly realised that Amazon was a very powerful machine. I am familiar with much of what Aggie so clearly has explained. I knew about categories. I am not sure how print version categories appear how they do. I suspect it is from the meta data associated with the ISBN. However, when publishing the Kindle versions I found that I was limited to two categories. 

The author has clearly explained how I can refine my categories and ask for them to be altered. Then I read about tags. I knew that they were equivalent to keywords in a website but I never knew how important it was to have the correct ones and not simply ones which I thought were the best. As you can imaging I beat a hasty retreat to re-visit my tags which was quite time consuming with print and Kindle formats. In Just Us Two: Ned and Rosie's Gold Wing Discovery and Chasing Rainbows - with Just Us Two I was careful to follow Aggies directives and choose tags carefully. For my other genre which is quite different, I took care to ensure that my tags reflected what people were looking for. Lifelong Learning: A View From the Coal Face (Lifelong Learning:Personal Effectiveness Guides)I had one focus but as these differed from book to book.Release Your Potential: Making Sense of Personal and Professional Development (Lifelong Learning:Personal Effectiveness Guides) had a different focus / market with Skills for Employability Part One: Pre-Employment (Lifelong Learning:Personal Effectiveness Guides) being different again with a focus on chapter content.The embedded video was an eye-opener and I realised that a black background for portrait style images was actually OK.The inclusion of live links within the chapters provides a valuable resource for further information and clarification. And I do have them in my Lifelong Learning series. 

I quickly realised why the advice for e-books is to not include too many live links. I actually wandered away from the book! My advice would be to read through without following the links before re-visiting each chapter again to explore the links in context of the topic under discussion.Regarding the unfavourable review - it is easy when you know how. What the author has done is to shed light for those who don't know how - both new and established authors! 

A valuable resource. My only adverse comment is that in the Kindle version which I reviewed, there was not a proper NCX file (in my copy) For those who don't know what this is, it is a Table of contents which appears after the front cover and is accessed from the 'Go' drop down menu at the top.In this book I was taken to the copyright page. The Table of Contents within the book did however, have live links and a link at the end of each chapter to go back to the Table of Contents. It is just a pity that Amazon don't synchronise the categories and tags for a book and format with all the sites (US,UK,France,Spain,Italy etc). I still have the European ones to go.

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________

Perfect Pages: Self Publishing with Microsoft Word, or How to Design Your Own Book for Desktop Publishing and Print on Demand (Word 97-2003 for Windows, Word 2004 for Mac) by Aaron Shepard Edition: Paperback

The difference in computer output and print. January 28, 2011

Perfect Pages is essential reading for anyone preparing documents for off-set or POD printing. A useful self-help tool into the mysteries and tools of Microsoft Word for those who are self-taught. Aaron writes clearly with the typeset used an example of what works and what doesn't for readability.

You do have to filter out the bits which relate to your own version of Word or computer platform but this is handled well.

In particular, I found it useful to be told to turn off hyperlinks for print and turn them back on for e-book publishing along with all the tips and tricks to make editing more professional.

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________

Review of Strife: The Widow Makers  

Another step in the power struggle. August 10th 2011

An excellent follow up to The Widow Makers. The story continues with Tommy gaining more control of his 'empire' doing dastardly deeds along the way. A fascinating insight into life of the times and how women were mere chattels as they went from their father's jurisdiction to their husband's in spite of their undoubted intelligence and business sense.

Eagerly awaiting the third in the trilogy.

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________


North Wales brought to life in The Widow Makers.  April 22nd 2011

I have just finished reading a gripping story. The harshness of life in the quarries in North Wales and class differences are brought to life as Joe and Emily seek to forge a better life from the dangers of Lancashire pits.Knowing North Wales well,I am familiar with the slate quarries and mountains as they are today but Jean brings all the minutiae of life in the 19th century and the dramatic beauty of the area to the forefront of her story.
Penrhyn Castle is described beautifully and the view over the sea and Menai Straits is spot on. As a lover of historical novels and family sagas,I am waiting eagerly for the next instalment in Widows Makers - Strife. Intriguingly - a Widow Maker is not what I thought it was . . .

 Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________

Review of Writing Science Fiction (Aber Writer's Guides)

Looking into the future and realms of fantasy.
Writing Science Fiction: What if . . . is another excellent creative writers’ guide from Aber Publishing. Initially, I found the going a little heavy but that was no doubt due to science fiction not being one of my regular subjects. It quickly became apparent that this subject requires an in-depth knowledge of physics, mathematics etc. backed up by research. Gifford explains the different types of science fiction before proceeding to the actual construction of the story and characters where ‘anything is possible’. This makes fascinating reading and much of it can be applied to other genres. Gifford explains the practicalities of getting published in detail. This is a valuable addition and essential to round off the lesson.

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________                          

December 22nd 2010

Review of Starting to Write (Aber/Studymates Writer's Guides) 

Review of Starting to Write Aber/Studymates Writer’s |Guides  

Starting to Write is full of practical advice which initially deals with the basics of constructing a disciplined approach to writing. The chapters cover such areas as: Where Do I Start, Practical Stuff, Becoming a Creative Writer, Avoiding Common Mistakes, to name a few.  Dr Rennie Parker talks to the student in a user-friendly and easy to understand way which gets beneath the mystery of the writing process and becoming a published author.  ‘Where Do I Start’ for instance, covers the practicalities of writing and the importance of writing things down as they happen. Although this may seem obvious, for the novice it may not be or they may not have the confidence to do that. This chapter reassures the reader that all ideas are useful and not to be wasted.
Each chapter begins with a short overview followed by relative topics with study tips and exercises to make you think and extend the boundaries of your writing .At the end is a period of reflection which is an important part of continual development.  Although a large part of the book is geared towards poem, prose and short stories, the underlying lessons are adaptable to writing in general and other genres. Of particular interest are the chapters on dealing with rejection and publishing with a practical analysis of what is, and what is not, acceptable which takes away much of the mystery of becoming a published author.

Although ‘Starting to Write’ is a writing course in itself, it is also a must-read for students attending creative writing courses, either in college or on-line, and should feature on their reading list.
Another excellent book from the Aber/Studymates stable.

Published by Aber/Studymates ISBN 978-1-84285-093-0

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________         

December 3rd 2010

Review of Kate Walker's 12 point Guide to Writing Romance (Aber Writers Guides) 3rd Edition

This is an invaluable book. Actually, as Kate explains at the outset it is more than a ‘guide’. It is a whole learning programme packed neatly into a manageable size book. Pick up and put down at will.
The book addresses the various ingredients or elements which make up a story. I feel that many of the disciplines which Kate includes in her guide are applicable in general to other genres of writing.
Of great interest and value is the section on practicalities from an editorial & publisher’s viewpoint which cover such things as word count (a different calculation method in USvUK), synopsis, query letter etc.
Each chapter concentrates on one theme ending with a series of searching questions for self-reflection followed by some exercises. A couple of lines to make notes and jot down thoughts before expanding later would have enhanced this section. However this is a minor point and does not detract from the excellence of the book. I found the sections which describe the various elements of different lines of published romance very helpful as were insights into other author’s experiences.
Published by  Aber Publishing ISBN-13: 978-1842851289

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________

The Writers Bible, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2009: A Directory for Writers, Artists, Playwrights, Designers, Illustrators and Photographers (Writers' & Artists' Yearbook) (Paperback)
As a 'newbie' I was entering a new world. This book provides a wealth of information not only about agents and publishers, but also about various practicalities such as Income Tax position etc. It opens the door to a new world. 

Rosalie Marsh, Award-Winning Author, Speaker, Learning & development Consultant. Member of Society of Authors www.discover-drosalie.com www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com Just Us Two: Ned and Rosie's Gold Wing Discovery

__________________________________

                        
November 29th 2010  
Kate Walker's 12 Point Guide to Writing Romance 3rd Edition
Under review

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________

A look into uncharted territory, November 22, 2010

How to sell more books on Amazon by Dana Lyn Smith. This is one of The Savvy Book Marketer Guides. I purchased the Kindle edition which downloaded to my PC in seconds. Read the full review at http://tinyurl.com/2frv5jg

Having downloaded this excellent book onto Kindle for PC, I have found it to be concise, clear and covers essential areas to be adressed in order to maximise sales. In particular, I found the section on self-publishing via Lighting Source illuminating. Thank you Dana for an excellent guide.

Rosalie Marsh, Author,Speaker,Learning&Development Consultant. Just Us Two: Ned and Rosie's Gold Wing Discovery www.discover-rosalie.com [...]

Rosalie Marsh. Author, Speaker, Educator. http://www.discover-rosalie.com Rosalie's Chatter http://www.discover-rosalie.blogspot.com

__________________________________

November 22nd 2010
Just Us Two:Ned and Rosie's Gold Wing Discovery by Rosalie Marsh Read the full review and more about the book http://tinyurl.com/22ls7z5